Navigation auf


Open Science

Open Science Committee

The Open Science Committee is responsible for supporting and establishing an Open Science culture in teaching and research at the University of Zurich. In particular, it supports the Open Science Team.

The Committee was set up following a resolution by the Executive Board of the University on 19 March 2019.


The Committee has the following tasks:

  • Policy and Strategy: Developing recommendations on establishing Open Science as part of teaching and research at the University of Zurich
  • Communication: Liaising with the faculties regarding needs, expectations and suggestions on Open Science
  • Support: Promoting Open Science initiatives and engagement, supporting and advising UZH departments


Chairperson Open Science Delegates

  • Prof. Dr. Marc Thommen
  • Prof. Dr. Leonhard Held

Vice President Research

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Stark

Deputy President and Vice President Education and Student Affairs

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Siegert

Vice President Faculty Affairs and Scientific Information

Prof. Dr. Christian Schwarzenegger

Faculty of Theology

  • Prof. Dr. Rafael Walthert
  • Dr. Sabrina Müller

Faculty of Law

  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Gächter
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Vokinger

Faculty of Business, Economics and Informatics

Prof. Dr. Rainer Winkelmann

Faculty of Medicine

  • Prof. Dr. César Nombela-Arieta
  • Prof. Dr. Maries van den Broek

Vetsuisse Faculty

Prof. Dr.  Adrian Hehl

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Oberauer
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Scholz

Faculty of Science

Prof. Dr. Michael Baudis

Open Access Ambassador SNF

Dr. Melanie Röthlisberger

Center for Reproducible Science

Dr. Eva Furrer

Citizen Science Center

Maria Rosa Mondardini

Central IT

Thomas Sutter


Marcel Riedi

Graduate Campus

Dr. Claudine Leysinger

Office for Gender Equality and Diversity

  • Dr. Karin Gilland Lutz
  • Dr. Mihaela Falub

Research Development

Luzia Budmiger

University Library 

  • Prof. Dr. Rudolf Mumenthaler
  • Dr. Wilfried Lochbühler
  • Dr. Andrea Malits


  • Dr. Christian Oesterheld
  • Dr. Elisabeth Gamer

Open Science Office

  • Katherine Hermans
  • Manuela Höfler

Weiterführende Informationen


Open Science Office

Katherine Hermans


Manuela Höfler